Snail Foam

I know it sounds like an amuse-bouche you might get served up at a Heston Blumenthal restaurant (the Devon Home Cook would never offer such a filthsome outrage in a porcelain espresso cup), but it is actually something snails do.

I didn’t know that snails could do such a thing until yesterday, when I found one busily foaming away when I was out in the garden. Note: I do not say I was garden-ing, merely that I was garden-in.

I thought it was dying what with all the apparent dissolving that seemed to be going on, and I had a guilty conscience having already accidentally squashed one with my thumb underneath the rim of my black bucket – henceforth known as the bucket of death. Further research reveals that the foamed snail was probably just deterring predators or an acid attack… Well good luck to it.

Sadly, I did definitely squish the other’s snail shell so I am hoping it just slimed off to carry on life as slug. Don’t tell me any different thanks. I couldn’t live with the guilt.

The snail foams

Another snail

Posted on May 19, 2010, in Be not idle, Biophilia, Food, gardening. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Stephen Foster

    Couldn’t you feed the recumbent snails to the fish thereby producing a virtuous eco-system of nature?

  2. Ugh!

    It is bad enough when we go to the pet shop for innocuous, yet virtuous, dried dog biscuits. The kids have latched on to the fact that they have a freezer and in the freezer there are all manner of dead things to feed to “pets”. Yesterday they had a load of live bugs in plastic boxes by the till. Plus there’s a cockatoo that will have your finger off – which they’ll probably put in the freezer and sell on. Oh it’s wall-to-wall excitement here.

    You can buy aquatic snails too. I will do that and take a picture of one – what excitement the blog offers readers 😉

  3. I don’t like change. I’m most disorientated. I might foam.

  4. The salmon pink is not altogether me is it?

    I’ll leave it and change tomorrow. I’m bored I was trying to introduce some excitement into my life hahaha

  5. Spotty salmon pink, to be precise. And no, it’s not you.

  6. This? Although I’ve lost Persian Punch at the top, but I have also lost the underlining which I hate!

  7. Nooooooooooooooooooooo. It makes my head hurt and is hard to navigate.

  8. Stephen Foster

    Change should happen at a snail’s pace; this is much too rapid…

  9. Well I’ll leave at this for today: “Freshy”

    No underlining \o/

    Pantones 🙂

    X

  10. This scheme I like – the Pantones I don’t. Can you change the picture back to Dessie? It’s iconic.

  11. Horrid, horrid, horrid. Looks and feels like a government website. Bring back P Punch. The old style was engaging and inviting. This is agitating and off-putting. So much so, that I barely registered the content. Call me an old buffer but…… I’m with Mr Foster on this.

    And for the record, I approve of Jacqueline Wilson.

  12. I am getting the feeling you don’t like it mother? Government is a bit strong though 😦

    I’ll reinstate Persian Punch seeing as how I love him more than pantones.

Leave a Reply

