The Hennessy

I was asked if I fancied going to watch this today at Newbury. I gave it some thought. Then I remembered that as much as I like Newbury, I do not very much like the cold, or the jumps. I do like Denman and he goes for an historic treble today, but since he had a fall at Aintree and that heart procedure I’ve not been able to watch him. Putting all that into the basket and throwing in a round trip of about 300 miles in the Tin Can from Japan decided me against. If Denman does manage to win I’ll be the first to pour myself a treble of the damn stuff and toast him.

I haven’t got a view of the race to be truthful, although the thought that The Tank will have to lug a minimum of 1 stone and 4 pounds more than his nearest weighted rival makes me shudder (and it will be just 2 pounds shy of two stone to most of the field). Instead I can only repeat what most people may have heard already: there have been strong whispers coming into the race for the Irish horse Pandorama and that some good judges have mentioned that Madison du Berlais may be a rather generously priced 16/1. All home safe and not too knackered is all I ask for.

In the meantime I’d rather look at this fantastic picture of the flat racing darling Selkirk in the snow, which the delightful Clare Balding kindly allowed me to use. Selkirk was trained by her father Ian and raced for George Strawbridge in a career that enjoyed wins in the Lockinge Stakes at the selfsame Newbury, the Celebration Mile at Goodwood and the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot.

Selkirk stands at Lanwades Stud in Newmarket, the fee for his services in 2011 is £20,000. He has sired 81 Group/Stakes winners including 12 Group 1 winners. So if it’s a group-winning flashy chestnut with some white markings you’re after producing you could do an awful lot worse…

Selkirk courtesy of Clare Balding's Twitpics

Posted on November 27, 2010, in Biophilia, Horse racing, Photography, Sport, Television and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. He’s a rare chestnut stallion. I’m glad he’s resumed covering as it appeared his duties were over last year. I’m getting more turned off by the jumps with all the horses being fatally injured lately. Sticking to Kempton today but I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the tank.

    • I’d like to back Street Power today because I met him as a 2yo and fell in love when he tried to eat my hand.

      He’s won me a few quid since then. Have a good day, hope you don’t get too frozen. Are these your two days on course in an official capacity?

  2. No, working at Lingfield next Sunday. I’m quite a regular at Lingfield and Kempton these days. You’re always welcome to come along. Badges & press room food included.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Hennessy « On wishes and horses -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

