‘My Colourful Life’ by Ginger McCain

Today we said goodbye to trainer Ginger McCain; best known for training Red Rum (pictured together above) and Amberleigh House to win four Grand Nationals between them. Then this year Ginger’s son Donald kept up the family tradition by training another Grand National winner in Ballabriggs.

I read Ginger’s autobiography when it came out a few years ago, this is what he wrote about Red Rum in the chapter Goodbye Red.

Until Amberleigh House won the Grand National for me for a fourth time in 2004, there were those who thought I was a one-horse trainer. I wouldn’t ever say that Red Rum and I were meant for each other. Yet I would say we were good for each other. If I hadn’t got him – and I don’t say this in a boastful fashion – he probably wouldn’t have lasted in racing much beyond the age of nine or ten. Where would he have gone from there? He would never have made a good hunter because Red Rum was Red Rum. He wouldn’t jump a bloody twig if he didn’t want to. And so he was out of this world for me. So, when they said I was a one-horse trainer I said that they were probably right. But I did make a good job of that one horse didn’t I? And I can never be anything but eternally grateful to the old lad.

On his grave at Aintree are written the lines:

Respect this place, this hallowed ground,
A legend here his rest has found.
His feet would fly, our spirits soar.
He earned our love for evermore.

Rather nice, that, isn’t it?

Yes Ginger, it is.

Gone, but not forgotten

Posted on September 19, 2011, in He stayed as long as he could, Horse racing, News, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It’s beautifully neat and apt that poem

  2. Agreed! It’s a funny thing this: I have had Red Rum as my phone screen for ages, last night I took it off. I am becoming increasingly convinced that although we can’t remember the future we do have some access to it *crazy lady waves bag*

  3. Rip red rum rest in peace love u I won’t forget u xxxxx

Leave a Reply

