Mentally scarred by a music video

I have always liked Hall & Oates (it’s my age I suppose, if I need an excuse (which I don’t because Daryl Hall is a fine soul singer)).

This song is one that can get to you if it comes on the radio, which it does. ‘…Up in the morning look in the mirror
I’m worn as her tooth brush hanging in the stand
my face ain’t looking any younger
now I can see love’s taken her toll on me…’

It’s a good lyric but when you watch this original video it’s hard to take it all quite so seriously.

Aesthetic health warning: stack heels, dodgy seventies outfits/hair, brief guitar solo in satin dinner jacket ensemble AND the quality is awful with the sound coming in really LOUD.

Fortunately everyone’s sense of humour appears to remain intact.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Art, Music, Nostalgia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

