Expressing the ineffable

Is beyond the likes of me, so sometimes, when I start to remind myself of a clanging bell, I try for some silence. I say try for, maybe I don’t even do that, maybe silence knows when it is time to come and visit and I am still learning to accept the wisdom in the still quiet; to sit with it, hear it and know it, without falling back to fill my world once again with the familiarity of noise and bustle. That world, the place where we do and think, with no real action or thought. Or maybe that’s just me.

On the other hand, perhaps it’s not just me. I found this poem via Twitter and whilst I cannot express the ineffable, I feel that Rumi, the 13th Century Persian mystic poet has done just that.

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing,
there is a field. I will meet you there.
When the soul lies down in that grass,
the world is too full to talk about
language, ideas, even the phrase each other
doesn’t make any sense.

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Art, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

