The British Museum

After the Paralympic Dressage at Greenwich Park I went to The Horse exhibition at the British Museum (which was my intended destination the other Friday when the car overheated).
It was small, and perfectly formed, which was good because I don’t think it much floated the kids’ boats. I particularly liked the oil paintings of the racehorse Eclipse, another stunning one of Gimcrack on Newmarket Heath by George Stubbs and a rather unusual painting and script mixture circa 1750 about the Godolphin Arabian, lent by Her Majesty the Queen. The Godolphin Arabian was, along with two other stallions, the foundation sire of the modern thoroughbred. That, however, is another post altogether.

I also had a look at the Paralympic medal designs on show, but, for the third time this week, a reflective surface (glass) got the better of me.

I took this stunning ceiling in the Queen Elizabeth II Great Court instead. Next time I go, I would like to visit the Reading Room, on the right of the picture.

Posted on August 31, 2012, in Architecture, Art, Horse racing, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

