Arc Day Dawns

My heart has been broken on a racecourse, more than once in fact, and after a while I just couldn’t take it any longer, so I took a break from the turf.  I’ve only kept an eye on proceedings because of the wonder horse Frankel who I saw hack up at the Dewhurst nearly two years ago now.  Frankel moves the heart and soul like very few other horses do, but I confess there have been a few .  I won’t name them now.  Those who know me might remember some of them.  Probably they won’t.  It doesn’t matter – no need to make the heart hurt more than it needs to on a sunny October morning.

All that’s a rather long way of saying, today, I logged into one of my long idle gambling acounts.  One has been run down to a balance of zero thanks to ‘inactive adminstrative fees’.  Because it costs you money to be my bank Mr Ladbroke?  Another remains intact with a sum in the magnificence of eleven pence.  Still, Paddy Power has at least left the paltry amount in my name, rather than helping himself to it in disgust at my giving up the gambling life.

It turns out I am not ready to place a bet.  I think I will close the accounts.  I have others elsewhere, but I can’t remember who with, or indeed the log-ins.  I have a vague idea that there is some money in one of them, somewhere.  I was thinking I might have a bet on Meandre today, but the ground has gone in Longchamp and it will not be coming back in time for this afternoon’s race.  Even worse, I find I do not care who wins the Arc.  What is wrong with me?  It only seems like yesterday I ran the Southend 10K on Arc Day morning and then watched  when Sea the Stars confirmed his place in the glittering firmament later that afternoon.  It seems like yesterday, but in truth it is three whole years ago.   The further truth is that I don’t run any more and I don’t go racing.

Where has the time gone?

Where are all the horses that used to live in my head?

It’s all a blur

Posted on October 7, 2012, in Horse racing, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your website in web explorer, could test this… IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a huge element of folks will leave out your fantastic writing due to this problem.

    • Hi Mollie, yes you are right, there is a problem loading the site on Internet Explorer. I don’t know why that is and it’s down to WordPress I suppose. Perhaps I should look into it. Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

