Dog as liability

I live on the edge of catastrophe with this dog. Every day it’s something, preferably involving a cat or a squirrel, or failing that, trying to fling himself out of a window in a bid for the unfettered freedom of a good pursuit. I do my best to curtail (geddit) his most heinous urges, but I take my own life in my hands when I do. Tonight, in the dark, he nearly knocked me out on a lamppost in pursuit of a cat under a car. The other week he rent my coat literally in two as he tried to go from 0-40 mph in a millisecond (again in pursuit of a cat). There will never be a day when I can let my kids hold him on the lead, and tonight was the last evening walk ever, if I can help it.

It’s not like he doesn’t get out much, here he is this morning tearing up the beach and barking at buoys.

The dog is a bastard.

Still, I believe in him more than I do in God.

On a different, but related, note, I am interested in how the very straight poles are curved when photographed in a group and how the dog manages to look very bendy indeed when he decided to run away from the buoys (as they were clearly too dangerous to be trusted).

Posted on October 10, 2012, in Dogs, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Try a harness. Or, more accurately, try several until you find one that works. It makes Maisie just about manageable; emphasis on ‘just about’.

Leave a Reply

