I don’t write about students

So I can’t write about this morning at work. Maybe it will rock up in a novel one day.

I am trying to read an Ian Rankin ‘Rebus’ novel at the moment. It’s not a genre I read usually, crime / thriller whatever, but I enjoyed a programme on Rankin lately and then this morning he popped up on ‘Start the Week’ on Radio 4. I didn’t catch all the programme, but despite the erudition of the other guests, without Rankin’s interjections the programme would have lacked something. None of today’s guests could have been accused of being voluble. Neither is Ian Rankin, Rebus less so. I haven’t got far into the book but I have phrase that was used to describe a post-mortem scene that has stuck with me. The phrase is, ‘hairy jam’ (and please forgive the earlier pun).

Not a pleasant image, admittedly, but on the money. I feel sure that both Rebus and Rankin would have omitted admittedly.

Does what it says on the cover

Posted on December 10, 2012, in Words and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

