Groundhog Day (and I learn some things)

Happy Groundhog Day!

What I learned today is, yes, there really is such thing as a groundhog and on the 2nd February the good old folks of Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania really do turn to a groundhog called Phil to predict the arrival of spring.

The eponymous film starring Bill Murray and Andy MacDowell was so well done that I just figured that not only the plot was fictional but so was the setting. Punxsutawney Phil, Gobblers Knob, a furry mammal appears from its burrow and the presence of its shadow or lack thereof dictates the ongoing winter or the beginning of spring… I mean really, you couldn’t make that stuff up, could you? I’ve since learned that the most unlikely events are those that are true.

The other things I learned today were:

My 10 year old was fully appraised of the reality of a furry mammal known as a groundhog
My 8 year old was etc.
If you buy a tarpaulin half the price of the last one you bought, it’s going to be half the size
Pedal bins range in price from £19.99 to over a £100.00
Life would be a lot easier if I were the human equivalent of a self-cleaning oven
And, when, I’m really, really, really mad it helps to stand down on the shore and listen to the ebb and flow of the waves because it regulates my breathing

Now, if Groundhog Day was called by the groundhog’s aka I would never have fallen into my silly belief that Punxsutawney was a made up place. The groundhoug is also know as: a woodchuck and I know all about them because they have their own theme song. It goes like this.

How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

There is a second line which is less relevant, but I’ll put it down anyway.

How much oil would a gumboil boil, if a gumboil could boil oil?

It’s not as good as the woodchuck line.

Happy Groundhog Day – apparently there was no shadow and winter’s on its way outta here. Yay.

Bill Murray and the real Punxsutawney Phil

Posted on February 2, 2013, in News, Nostalgia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Guilty as charged. The day before yesterday I found the dog’s ointment in the darkest and most remote corner of the fridge……………..

Leave a Reply

