‘I believe in angels’

ABBA sang this song called I Have A Dream. To be honest, I thought it was a bloody awful tune, but somehow a line from the lyrics popped into my head when I was looking at this picture I took at the weekend.

angel

I have a dream, a song to sing
To help me cope with anything
If you see the wonder of a fairy tale
You can take the future even if you fail
I believe in angels
Something good in everything I see
I believe in angels
When I know the time is right for me
I’ll cross the stream, I have a dream

I don’t know why I took the picture; I don’t why the snatch of song snuck into my head.

That leads me onto a song that Aaron Neville sang with Linda Ronstadt…I Don’t Know Much… Let’s not go there now – one song is enough per post, otherwise it all gets very confusing.

Do I have to think in song lyrics? I mean really. It’s not very sophisticated is it. Much better to think like George Orwell. I caught a bit of the Radio 4 programme on his writings this morning. It was excellent. He was ranting about the linguistic borrowings that go on in the English language. He was most outraged, and of course, exceptionally funny.

His chief complaints included the gripe that the flower previously quite adequately known as a snapdragon had, quite unnecessarily, now become an antirrhinum, a word no-one can spell without recourse to a dictionary. (I can confirm this, having had to google it myself) and, no less annoying, that the pretty cottage garden pink had become known as a dianthus. There were many more examples, not just flowers, but more than I can relate. Anyway the original source is far more amusing than my sketchy rendition could be, so listen again here.

Back to ABBA lyrics. Seminal if you grew up in the 70s I suppose. Embarrassing, but true.

As for angels, well, I was raised a Catholic. All the angels and saints are referred to in the Mass – as a child I said the words as the congregation apparently prayed to these intermediaries and messengers. Today, like the ABBA song I couldn’t remember the rest of the words and I didn’t much like the tune.

Still, the theme has evidently stayed with me.

I believe in angels…
…All the angels and saints

ABBA and the Catholic Church. Wait a minute, doesn’t Abba mean father? What have I uncovered here! The connotations are practically Orwellian.

Now, conspiracy theories notwithstanding, that totally qualifies as a post I never expected to write.

Posted on February 19, 2013, in Music, Nostalgia, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

