On practice

In this instance the practice I am showing is that of my daughter and her art.

All the rhubarb you read on here is my own writing practice of course. Many thanks for being the blog lab guinea pigs, it helps. Now, I don’t know where my daughter is with the 10,000 hour practice rule as per Malcolm Gladwell, but she certainly spends a fair amount of time in her bedroom creating things. I was just in there and the floor is covered with the evidence.
I was particularly intrigued by a round piece the diameter of a car tyre…

If I apply the 10,000 hour rule to the blog, which is in excess of 1500 posts now, I reckon I am still only halfway there at most. Then there are those that say that ‘the rule’ is all bunkum anyway and it certainly would be, if you didn’t enjoy the practice of practice itself (which I did not at all when it involved me playing the violin).

On this theme, I’ve included a quote about practice underneath the picture gallery (queue Tony Hart music). The quote tipped up in a serendipitous fashion this morning somewhere on the social networks; however I was slightly more tickled by this tweet from @eggdog which is just the kind of thing that would distract you from getting your practice in, whatever it is.

“facte: you eat 28 spiders in your lifetime. always 28. if you are about to die and you have only eaten 3 then 25 spiders arrive at once”

pencil colour turtle

pencil cat

pencil dog with bone

pencil colour frog

Apologies for the shadows cast by my taking the photos on my lap. Lazy, lazy, lazy.

Anyway, here, finally, is some erudition as opposed to my own ramblings. That missing 5000 hours in my practice is definitely showing this morning…

I believe that we learn by practice. Whether it means to learn to dance by practicing dancing or to learn to live by practicing living, the principles are the same. In each, it is the performance of a dedicated precise set of acts, physical or intellectual, from which comes shape of achievement, a sense of one’s being, a satisfaction of spirit. One becomes, in some area, an athlete of God. Practice means to perform, over and over again in the face of all obstacles, some act of vision, of faith, of desire. Practice is a means of inviting the perfection desired.

– Martha Graham
American dancer

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Art, Children and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

