81% full (don’t know how much space a giraffe takes…)

The blog is nearly full. I’ve been at it for years now so it’s no surprise. I suppose I can buy more space to continue to host my internet meanderings; the project I am working on now needs a platform (apparently) so it would seem silly to start from scratch all over again someplace else.

I’ve had over 120,000 views on here now – plenty of which are spam sadly – but a fair few really aren’t. Some posts have provoked genuine interest, others less so. That’s ok, if you communicate constantly and compulsively, not all of it can be elevated above the workaday and mundane. I used to do a lot of ranting on here. This current government have knocked it out of me… nearly. I seem to work with people who suffer so at their hands day in and day out, ranting about it after hours wouldn’t really help them.

All of this is a bit of a preamble. The blog isn’t closing. It can’t! It’s out there on the interweb for posterity, or worse. But I am aware that my big writing project is taking more and more of my time and that the blog is not only nearly full, but it feels a little neglected too.

So, I am going to try some different stuff on here over the summer. It’s going to be like having a busman’s holiday. If it doesn’t make sense at times (well less than it already does) please forgive. I’ve got some fiction extracts and some old travelogue bits I’d like to get out of notebooks and digitised, and maybe some poetry too, so if you tune in and find yourself in Delhi in the last millennium, that’ll be why. There’ll be different voices because of the form and the timespan, but it’s all my own work and its something I’d like to do before I reach the dreaded full up point: 100%.

Come along for the ride? Suddenly, with the overworked bus metaphor, my recent Cliff Richard nightmare is making perfect sense. Let’s have a different song altogether to wipe that horrid thought from our minds.

Here’s my real summer anthem.

Posted on June 5, 2013, in Be not idle, Children, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi, Jess. Good to see you on Tuesday. Good luck with your project, it is huge BUT as I said, I am at least 90% sure you will find a publisher. Only thing is to be focused, stubborn and yes, you might need to give up/neglect a few things… The best thing would probably be to get some time off work. I know there is always the financial side of things, and I guess I am in a very different situation to you and much more flexible, but it can be done. Hope to keep in touch… And yes, your project might need its own website! I’m using weebly, it’s quite good, easy to use for quasi-technophobes like me and good value for money! See you around Southend,
    Carya

  2. Obi-Wan : [thoughtfully] Obi-Wan Kenobi. Obi-Wan… Now, that’s a name I’ve not heard in a long time. A long time.

  3. I love this song… This is my visceral DJ song for a summer’s eve

Leave a Reply

