Up

I am up quite early this morning. Early for me anyway. I didn’t start work until 12 yesterday but I went straight through until 9.30 pm and it was quite intense in places with lots to think about, so, as it turns out, I did not sleep well at all. I have to be on my guard for not sleeping well. Being too tired can send my brain to places it did not ought to go. I am following an artist on Twitter at the moment – she is bipolar. Apparently her father was bipolar too and committed suicide in the end. I worry when I see someone surfing the creative, manic wave of no sleep – mainly because, bipolar or not, it’s unsustainable. In bipolar, it can be fatal. Apparently if you work nights, it can increase your risk of breast cancer. Seductive and quiet the wee small hours may be, but they are not good for our health.

I have a nannying voice that tells me sternly to, ‘Go to sleep!’ So I lie fitfully all night long as thoughts and images swirl and whirl in my brain. I never get up and do something more interesting instead because that way madness surely lies, and I don’t need any help along the way with that. If I lay awake tweeting all night I’d be carted away within the week. So, if you ever see me on Twitter past midnight, tweet me to go to bed…

Posted on July 2, 2013, in Be not idle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wray Barton Wrecking Crew

    There’s quite a lot of not sleeping going on in this house too. Empathy being sent your way.

  2. Wray Barton Wrecking Crew

    God knows. In fact, I doubt if even he is in the know.

Leave a Reply

