It must be the heat…

…what has gone to my head.

Life rushes by and everyone looks really hot. Sometimes I am rushing too, but my head always feels fairly calm. This is becoming more and more the norm for me. The opposite used to be true. My head was always rushing; maybe I looked calmer. I think I prefer it this way round. It really makes a difference to just do one thing time at a time. Today I ate my sandwich sitting on a bench outside. I just ate my sandwich. I didn’t think about anything, or talk, or text, or read – I just ate my sandwich. As a result, I noticed all kinds of things that I hadn’t noticed before. They weren’t big things. They weren’t marvellous and outstanding things, they were just little, but when you are just eating your sandwich and making space for things to come in, the little things can seem pretty damn marvellous.

It wasn’t even that special a sandwich, but that’s not the point… Multitasking is the enemy of peace of mind and a contemplative lifestyle. It’s also bad for your health. Don’t fall for it!

Here’s another end of term picture by Cassia. I think it’s hot where these women are too, but they look pretty cool to me.

africa dancing

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Art, Biophilia, Children and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Really love that painting by Cassia – reminds of the paintings at the school’s African art show.

  2. It really is fantabulous and so was the gull. Love it x

  3. Wray Barton Wrecking Crew

    I might print this off for my new office!

  4. Wray Barton Wrecking Crew

    Permission to do so?

Leave a Reply

