Shorelines

It was nerve-wracking, but lovely, to be able to be part of this literary festival earlier this month.

The feedback from my own reading was positive – and I hope not just polite. Anyway, the lack of blogliness lately is partly to do with the general pressing on with the second draft of the manuscript.

Some of you may have seen this video already. For those of you that haven’t, I think it captures the spirit of the event quite beautifully. The downside to reading myself is that I wasn’t able to catch other artists although I did see a wonderful film installation by the Greek artist Mikail Karikis called Sea Women which I would recommend.

Thanks to Metal, Rachel Lichtenstein and Syd Moore as well as my fellow Lit Labbers – some of whom, Penny, Farah and Miss Gish, make cameo appearances on the film.

Posted on November 22, 2013, in Art, Words and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Two weeks ago I drove up to see what these families are experiencing. In all of my years of touring well sites, batteries, and gas plants etc, I have never before encountered such high levels of emissions. I was in the area for 3 hours. I ended up with a massive headache and my tongue was tingling and tasted like I had metal in my mouth.

  2. The tide rises, the tide falls, The twilight darkens, the curlew calls; Along the sea-sands damp and brown The traveller hastens toward the town, And the tide rises, the tide falls. Darkness settles on roofs and walls, But the sea, the sea in the darkness calls; The little waves, with their soft, white hands, Efface the footprints in the sands, And the tide rises, the tide falls. The morning breaks; the steeds in their stalls Stamp and neigh, as the hostler calls; The day returns, but nevermore Returns the traveller to the shore, And the tide rises, the tide falls.

Leave a Reply

