Cabs, Brooklyn

I remember I said in the last post that I would blog up another of my travelling sister’s pictures. In the last post, I erroneously suggested that the cabs weren’t yellow in Brooklyn, but as you can see here, my mistake. Still, the whole set-up looks pretty groovy and hip to me.

Which brings me to a slow-dawning realisation I’ve been having – the opposite of hip and probably excruciatingly embarrassing if you are related to me: I want to be a cowboy. For an awfully long time I thought I wanted to have a gypsy lifestyle, but the truth is I’m just not hardy enough for all year round. I am however determined to spend a day travelling in a vardo and a night camped out this year. Determined, I tell you! I’ve come to the conclusion I’ve been getting my itinerant lifestyles all mixed up because I really don’t dress like a Romany, but lately I’ve been even going to work in my gold cowboy boots… with tweed trews. I know it’s wrong, but I really don’t care. Plus there’s the oversized cowboysbag. All I need now is the belt, the horse and the hat. It’s all fitting together in my head now, and when I go to Devon next – I’m gonna wear a stetson and probably be disowned.

After I’ve been wanderlusting in Cumbria this year, I might take me a trip to a ranch in Montana – for the big skies and the horses and the cattle. If I see a rattlesnake though I will just die. It sounds a bit like the start of a poor country song (in my head anyway) but I haven’t got any music for you today, just these cabs.

cabs

Joni Mitchell anyone?

Posted on January 15, 2014, in Be not idle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wray Barton Wrecking Crew

    Those are just old NYC checker cabs. The cabs in Brooklyn (which is classed as a ‘boro) are in fact a different colour – they are lime green…http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-12-18/nyc-taxi-drivers-see-green-as-new-cabs-cruise-to-brooklyn.html

  2. Should be an editor, yo? x

Leave a Reply

