Live Below The Line 2014: Shopping, prep and a very small fiver…

Good luck to Jack Monroe in this challenge, erstwhile spinster of this parish 🙂 Link to sponsor her should you wish at the bottom of the page.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

Well, the Smalls went back to nursery this morning, so I dashed to the shops afterwards on an empty stomach, clutching my fiver for this year’s Live Below The Line challenge.

I no longer live in Southend on Sea next to the big orange supermarket that was my lifeline when I was living on an excruciatingly tight (and often non existent) budget. I now live in London, and my nearest large supermarket is a 20 minute walk away.

I darted into the two supermarket shops closest to me, a Tesco Express and a Sainsburys Local – and found that the T.E. had nothing from the Value range except a jar of coffee, at 57p. Nope, I definitely don’t need that, but I bought a bag of oats (68p, annoyingly I knew that the larger bags were 75p in the bigger shops), and 6 free range eggs for £1 – a…

View original post 730 more words

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Horse racing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

