Ed Sheeran: The Parting Glass @ Wembley

20150712_215740

I took the eldest daughter to Wembley last night to see the ginger-headed one – the best bit I felt was when he referenced his Irish roots (and my Scottish ones) by singing The Parting Glass acapella.  The rest, well, it wasn’t altogether my cup of tea, but there’s no knocking the lad’s intent, his passion and the overall workrate.  And he’s only 24.

His set was just over 2 hours long, alone with his guitars, and without a break.  He held the audience’s attention, although my own mind wandered from time to time.  I took a few photos – as did thousands of others.

20150712_213918

We spent the night high up in the gods and, looking down, as the sun set, I was reminded of nothing more than Ai Weiwei’s Sunflower Seeds that made me so angry some years back in the Tate Modern’s Turbine Hall. That was a blog post that never got written, and never will, now.

2015-07-13 19.40.23

A lifetime ago.

20150712_213718

Goodnight and joy be with you all

 

 

Posted on July 13, 2015, in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

