10 years ago

Measuring a decade in horse races is a funny thing to do but that’s what happened earlier this week.  I was scrabbling around in my mind for the name of a fetching horse from Australia who won the Juddmonte International at York in 2005 and then won the Dubai World Cup the following spring from the so-called ‘coffin draw’.

Ten years ago, on the day of the Juddmonte, my children were three and one, and I was visiting my sister who lived in Forest Hill, South London, where I managed to watch the race.  I probably walked down to the local William Hill to place a bet on the horse as well, if I didn’t arrive already clutching my winning slip.

The horse was called Electrocutionist and everything was well with the world on that day as he crossed the line narrowly in front.

The following year Electrocutionist died at home from a heart attack.  Looking back at some of his hard-fought victories I can see a very tired horse crossing the line.  So in hindsight, all was not well with him, even when he was winning.  If that’s not a metaphor for life, then I don’t know what is.

I am glad to remember him.  Sad too.  It seems many of the best ones often give of their all until its too late (thinking Rooster Booster, Persian Punch, Best Mate).

Posted on August 19, 2015, in Horse racing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

